2016: The Year of The Series

Hello all!  I hope you have had a fabulous start to your 2016.  I have personally spent the first full week of this year working 40 hours in a library.  Which was wonderful 🙂  Also, during those long hours in a library, I had lots of time to think about what books I want to spend my time reading this year.  I set my Goodreads goal at 50 books for this year, which may seem small, but this is the first year I have ever set a challenge like this for myself, and I have discovered that small goals are the best way to start.  Hopefully I will far surpass my little goal, but we shall see 🙂

When I was thinking about what fifty books I want to spend my year with, a lot of series kept popping into my mind.  So I thought I would share with you the top five series that are on my TBR list for this year, and why I am choosing to read (or reread) each one.

First up is the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling.  As I am writing this post, I have already been through the first three of these books since the beginning of 2016 (another reason why working in a library is awesome.  Lots of reading time).  I originally read this series my sophomore into my junior year of high school, which is kind of ironic, because I am going to finish my sophomore year and start my junior year of college in 2016.  Also, since I read the series the first time, I have seen all of the movies several times – but I have never done the thing where you watch each movie as you finish each book.  So that’s what I am doing, and after finishing these first three books and movies, I can just say that I forgot how incredibly amazing this series is – and I am so excited to experience Harry Potter’s adventures again this year.

The next series is The Selection Series by Kiera Cass.  I just have such fond memories of these books.  I read them all as they came out, and I just want to reread all of the in preparation for the release of The Crown in March.

Next, I have The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.  I recently discovered that I have not actually read all of these books.  I have read the books that became movies – but as a child, my family had these fantastic audio-books of the Narnia series, so I was content to listen to those.  I got the collection of Narnia books for Christmas, and I am so excited to dive into that series.  Also, I think it would be so amazing to be able to pass that collection of books on to my children some day.  There is just something so special about reading the same copy of a book that someone close to you also read.

The forth series on my list is a brand new series for me, and one that I have heard such good things about from the booktube/bookblog community.  And that is the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas.  I had never read any of her books until I discovered A Court of Thorns and Roses (which, unfortunately I was reading from my library back home – but I had to return it before I came back to school.  I ended up buying it for myself but I have not picked it up again because Harry Potter.  But, all that to say, it is fantastic so far).  I came to love Sarah’s writing through that book – and I have really been getting into high fantasy in the past few months, so I am very excited to dive into this new-to-me series.

The last series on my list is The Maze Runner by James Dashner.  I read the triology a very, very long time ago – before there was even talk of a movie.  I remember loving it, and I was so happy with the first movie – because so much of it was just how I pictured in the book (not so much in the second movie tho…).  I want to relive this series, mostly just so that I can picture Dylan O’Brien’s face as Thomas, but also just because it is so different from most of the books on my TBR list this year.

What book or series on your TBR are you most excited to read in 2016?  It is going to be a fabulous year for books!

 

One thought on “2016: The Year of The Series

Leave a Reply

